godsfingers – Watchman on the Wall

Spiritual musings, prophetics, lessons, music, etc…by Pastor Dan Long

Apostle: A Possible Postulate

Leave a comment


I keep struggling for an answer when pegged with the question about the building “jobs” for the church that are allegedly gone (okay, a couple, conveniently) since the “apostles” died off. I know that apostles are needed now and I know there are a ton of fakes but in my “oldness” I lacked the time to do a thorough study on it.  Leave it to my friend Ben in Romania to already have the work done for a nagging thought. An awesome insight and study. Thanks Ben, for the hard work.

Footsteps In The Deep

I’ve been studying the word “apostle” recently.  While I don’t have any “ground-breaking” things to say, I did realize some things that I hadn’t noticed before.

Before getting to the things that I found surprising, let me just say….  I know people tend to freak out when anyone starts talking about apostles, especially when that person believes in the present gift and calling, but bear with me.  Don’t freak out.  Yet.

Okay, now that that’s done, let’s start with some basics:

1) The term “apostle” used to be a normal Greek word, not a religious word with a capital letter on the front of it.  That capital letter and the religious context only came later, much later.  In the beginning, it was a word just like any other, just like how “born again” used to mean simply being born a second time, not “prayed a prayer and go to an evangelical church…

View original post 2,362 more words

Author: godsfingers

I'm a musician and worship leader, intent on following wherever God leads and directs me, with His leading's in the Spirit and others bonking me on the head ( hopefully not much of the latter). My life experiences are in blue collar and white collar (engineering) employment, political office, lay ministries, national competition in track and cross country and most importantly marriage and raising a family. God has given me a unique set of skills and character to serve Him and a passion for doing it.

Leave a Reply

