godsfingers – Watchman on the Wall

Spiritual musings, prophetics, lessons, youth ministry, music, etc…by Dan Long

Indifferent? a dirge…..

Leave a comment


I wrote this little dirge in the mid 70’s in relationship with the song “I Wish We’d All Been Ready” from the “Thief in the Night” movies. Forty years later as I witness the state of this country, and the world I’m inclined to bring it back….

INDIFFERENCE
in the key of Am

Child stands in darkness
tries to find a glimpse of light
he just stands and softly shudders
in a land so full of fright

He wonders, just where it’s at
and, if it’s a single fact
that someone, watches over him
watches over him

Man walks indifferent
earthly pleasures are his goal
the voice of Jesus gently calling
without me you’ll lose your soul

He just says, get out of here and
I don’t, even want you near and
why don’t you go bother someone, who needs you
who needs you

The time has gone so quickly now
the multitude begins to form
the crowd begins to tremble
see a people so forlorn

The time, finally, has come about
it breaks, with a tremendous shout
as God’s armies have come to rout
the evil one,
they’ve just begun

Man, stands so different
his will , no longer his own
see the books, quickly opened
see the Lord upon His throne

(the Lord says)
Look at you standing there
You didn’t even care
Now you, have to go down where
I send you…….
I’ve sent you…………

copyright 1977 by Dan Long

Author: godsfingers

I'm a musician and worship leader, intent on following wherever God leads and directs me, with His leading's in the Spirit and others bonking me on the head ( hopefully not much of the latter). My life experiences are in blue collar and white collar (engineering) employment, political office, lay ministries, national competition in track and cross country and most importantly marriage and raising a family. God has given me a unique set of skills and character to serve Him and a passion for doing it.

Leave a Reply

